Tohoku University

Tohoku University was founded in 1907 as the third imperial university. It became a national university after the World War II. In April 2004, all national universities in Japan including Tohoku University became incorporated body and therefore legally independent of the national government. Tohoku University has 10 faculties, and 15 graduate schools, 3 professional graduate courses, 6 research institutes, and 11 inter-department institutes for education and research.

Tohoku University has 3,116 teaching staffs, 3,085 administrative and technical support staffs and 11,003 undergraduate students, and 6,846 graduate students.

Tohoku Uni